Aaj TV

Prime Minister Imran Khan on Saturday congratulated the newly elected Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani and Deputy Chairman Mirza Mohammad Afridi.

Taking to Twitter, the premier said he was glad that these top posts in Senate went to people from Balochistan and the tribal areas.

"Congratulations to Sadiq Sanjrani and Mirza Mohammad Afridi on winning Senate Chairman and Deputy Chairman elections. I am happy Balochistan & former FATA got these two slots," Khan said and added that the election is "in line with my policy of mainstreaming those parts of Pak that have been marginalized or left behind in the past."

Source: Twitter

It is pertinent to mention that Sadiq Sanjrani got 48 votes against 42 of Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani of PDM to win the coveted seat of Chairman Senate, while Mirza Mohammad Afridi won the seat by getting 54 votes against the 44 of Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haidari, a joint candidate of PDM, out of a total of 98 votes.