Aaj.tv Logo

After the ouster of former prime minister Imran Khan, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s members in the Azad Jammu and Kashmir Assembly have submitted a no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Sardar Abdul Qayyum Niazi in the assembly's secretariat to prevent the dissolution of the AJK assembly, reported Aaj News on Tuesday.

The prime minister is also a part of the PTI.

Out of the 53 members of the Assembly, 25 PTI lawmakers, including Majid Khan, Ali Shan and Akbar Ibrahim, have signed the no-trust move against the prime minister, while name of PTI’s Tanveer Ilyas Khan was proposed as the new premier.

The MPs have also submitted a requisition to summon the AJK assembly within 14 days for voting on the motion which has to be conducted between three to seven days after summoning the session.

Currently, the PTI is in majority in the AJK Assembly with 32 seats, including three reserved seats in the House, while the Pakistan People’s Party holds 12 seats, the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz seven and the Jammu Kashmir Peoples Party and the All Jammu and Kashmir Muslim Conference each one seat.